Pulling out your Advent Calendar-Away with the Wrinkles

A customer asked me today about ironing her Advent Calendar. Here is my response:

I use my iron close to the wool setting…just hot enough to use some steam as the wrinkles come out much better with steam. I would be careful as you iron the part where the sky is glued on (for those of you with the “starry sky banners). I have ironed mine before, but I greatly reduce the steam so it doesn’t interfere with the glue. If the wrinkles aren’t coming out then crank up the temperature a bit on your iron. I always start low though because if you get the iron too hot it has a melting type effect on the felt that will scorch it and cause it to loose some of its “fuzzy” feeling and the pieces won’t cling. I hope that makes sense!

If you have your iron hot enough and are using steam, the felt should smooth out easily and look fresh and pressed!

Leave a Reply

